Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411485 Posts in 69371 Topics- by 58427 Members - Latest Member: shelton786

April 24, 2024, 08:09:43 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsPlayerGeneralHow do you deal with the stigma against indies who haven't finished a game?
Pages: [1] 2
Print
Author Topic: How do you deal with the stigma against indies who haven't finished a game?  (Read 2243 times)
piirakka
Level 0

View Profile
« on: June 10, 2015, 03:39:35 AM »

I'm sure everyone here is familiar with the idea that you're not a real game developer until you've made a game.

I've been doing game development for a few years, I'm a competent programmer and a decent artist, and I've made a few trivially small games in the past but I haven't yet been able to finish a proper game of my own. Because of that I feel like I have almost no credibility as an indie developer. In my interactions with other developers I've been excluded, ignored, talked down to, or had my point of view dismissed enough times to have this feeling reinforced. It seems like without a game to my name, I'm nobody.

As a result, over the last year or two I've stopped participating in the indie community. No more conferences, game jams, parties, or hanging out in bars. I used to think that I could start participating again once I released a game, but I don't know if I can anymore. It just sucks to feel like I can't talk about my game design struggles with other developers or even ask them questions because I'll be perceived as an annoying wannabe. It makes game development a sad and lonely experience.

To some extent I can understand the stigma, since indie developers have to eat, and releasing games is the only way to get paid. But this kind of gatekeeping seems at odds with the inclusive and welcoming image that the indie community has.