Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411423 Posts in 69363 Topics- by 58416 Members - Latest Member: JamesAGreen

April 18, 2024, 02:39:28 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperAudioLoudness Standards?
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Loudness Standards?  (Read 1315 times)
Characterlimi
Level 0

View Profile
« on: June 17, 2015, 05:39:07 PM »

As a freelance composer/sound designer I have had an opportunity to work on many different kinds of projects, and I have experienced many different kinds of audio pipelines. Sometimes you get the opportunity to collaborate with other sound designers or composers, which brings to light interesting problems if you and your collabs are working remotely. The primary problem I want to address is that of dynamic range, and loudness standards (or the lack thereof).

I have seen this discussed in other areas, such as AES meetings, however the general consensus with regards to loudness standards seems to be a resounding "Huh? Wh...what?" followed by a lecture from a veteran (see: old) audio engineer describing the abuse of aggressive compression and the degradation of the art of Mastering. This isn't to be dismissive of the wiser (older) audio guys. I agree with the bulk of their rants. My issue is that nobody seems willing or interested in naming a standard.

This may all seem like an incredibly narrow/niche issue, but if every audio asset coming in is a wildly different level, batch processing becomes a thing of the past. Productivity falls to a stand still because somebody at some point in the pipeline has to sit down and squash or boost everybody else's work. Not to mention that you'll be risking a myriad of distortion issues when you start boosting recorded audio (foley or vox).