Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411490 Posts in 69371 Topics- by 58428 Members - Latest Member: shelton786

April 24, 2024, 08:37:03 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsPlayerGeneralHave the programming skills, need software advice for game development
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Have the programming skills, need software advice for game development  (Read 962 times)
GeneralCody
TIGBaby

View Profile
« on: June 18, 2015, 11:47:07 AM »

Hi! Just joined this board looking for some answers.

I DON't want to start a my software is better than yours debate (all though it might be inevitable).

I've been working in the IT industry since 1996, with everything from networking and computer security to system development projects as a lead programmer.
I've used C, C++, Python, C#, Perl and some other obscure languages.

The point now is that I'm sick of programming business applications, and would like to go all-in with development of games and possibly simulation of oil and gas if the games don't work out...

BUT. I don't understand what the difference between packages like "Allegorithmic Live" does that the "Quixel Suite" does not.
I don't know much about the general process of creating games what so ever actually, I just feel that this is the right thing.
I've been modeling in 3D for some time, so the actual game assets is not a problem for me to produce, given some directions.

Also the programming of the game logic should be something that I could handle given my background as a developer.

I've tried to pinpoint my questions: