Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411504 Posts in 69373 Topics- by 58429 Members - Latest Member: Alternalo

April 25, 2024, 04:37:49 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperBusinessIs Early Access right for me? Give your thoughts, share your experiences!
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Is Early Access right for me? Give your thoughts, share your experiences!  (Read 833 times)
@EMOTIONTHEORY
Level 0

Adam Thompson

View Profile WWW
« on: July 08, 2015, 11:23:48 AM »

Hi all! I'm a solo indie dev and my recent game which got greenlit is Super Shield, an action arcade game that is like a mix of Super Hexagon and Bit Trip Beat. You basically move a rotational pong-like paddle and frantically deflect incoming particle effects to great visual and audio flair.

My final goal aims for a much improved visual / audio experience, with 3 game modes at a price tag of somewhere between $5-10USD ($10USD would get you the soundtrack - thoughts on pricing are welcome!).

The game modes are:

• Campaign (choreographed levels - think Bit Trip Beat or Duet)
  • Endless (survival / score attack - last until you lose with Leaderboards.)
  • Zen (play for fun & for the lovely visuals)

Check out the Super Shield greenlight page to see more of what the game is like.

At this point I'm wondering if Early Access would be a good thing for me. Close friends and family have said YES, but I'd like to have the community sway me to the idea with your experiences (providing examples would really helpful!).

Here are my personal points in favour of each one.

Early Access: YES

• As a small title and my first product to appear on Steam (a big commercial milestone for me), the experience of doing an Early Access would be immense.