Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411279 Posts in 69323 Topics- by 58380 Members - Latest Member: bob1029

March 28, 2024, 04:56:39 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsKREEP - Steam!
Pages: [1] 2 3
Print
Author Topic: KREEP - Steam!  (Read 7897 times)
Spidi
Level 1

View Profile WWW
« on: July 15, 2015, 04:55:50 AM »

Hi there!

This is my first time writing a devlog, so go easy on me Beg. I hope to write interesting posts about my current project and would also love the get feedback as I go along developing it! Feel free to speak your mind about the game or about the logs, especially if I'm doing something terribly wrong...

Now onto my current project:

KREEP is a two-dimensional top-down couch co-op (hot-seat) multiplayer action game. Similar lately popular ones, that I should mention, are TowerFall and Samurai Gunn, but it is actually more akin to older games in design and mechanics. The most influential games putting their stamps on it were Battle City and Dyna Blaster.

Mechanics & design:

The core mechanic and main story element (or simply the antagonist) is the "KREEP", a tirelessly ever growing alien life-form which actually "consumes" the free walk-able tiles on the maps while playing a deathmatch. The main goal of each player is of course to frag the others and get the most points, but the KREEP twists the gameplay, as it is an artificial time limit and it transforms the play area while playing a match.

Project status & plans: