Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411413 Posts in 69360 Topics- by 58415 Members - Latest Member: sophi_26

April 16, 2024, 07:13:08 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsPlayerGeneralHow long have you been making games?
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: How long have you been making games?  (Read 1044 times)
SelfTitled
Level 1

View Profile WWW
« on: July 22, 2015, 09:42:54 AM »

So inspired by a Rami Ismail tweet and the replies he got, I was wondering

• How long have you been making games for?
  • How long before you sold a game you made?
  • Did it make any money? (as in did it cost less to make than you got back)

any other comments you'd like to share about your time making games?

Guess I'll go first

How long have you been making games for?
    I've been making games for about 18 years now, made my first game in a program called Klick n Play.

How long before you sold a game you made?
    I had been making games for about 16 years before I sold a game. It only sold about 150 copies though.

Did it make any money? (as in did it cost less to make than you got back)
    Nope, not a penny. Released it on XBLIGs where you only get payed if you sell over a certain threshold, which I didn't.

It struck me that I've been doing this a long time now and making money from it has never been a goal of mine, although it felt pretty cool to know somone was willing to spend money they had earned on a game I made. I was wondering what others thoughts on the matter are.
« Last Edit: July 22, 2015, 09:51:13 AM by SelfTitled » Logged

oahda
Level 10

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2015, 09:45:35 AM »

don't you mean did it cost less to make than you got back

SelfTitled
Level 1

View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2015, 09:49:46 AM »

don't you mean did it cost less to make than you got back
Yes I do. I'll change it

Oddball
Level 10