Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411498 Posts in 69373 Topics- by 58428 Members - Latest Member: shelton786

April 25, 2024, 09:13:52 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperAudioSetting up a field recording kit - advice requested
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Setting up a field recording kit - advice requested  (Read 1359 times)
Barendhoff
Level 1

View Profile WWW
« on: July 25, 2015, 02:53:30 AM »

TIGSource Audio fellows, I need your advice! I'm setting up a field recording kit, but as I'm rather new to the subject, I find it hard to make a sound judgment about what gear to gather.

What I want to be able to do
I need a versatile set of equipment suited for recording in various environments, such as:
- Construction sites;
- Forests;
- Mountain areas;
- Urban areas;
- The insides of machines.

Ideally, I would have the tools to make both general ambience recordings as well as close-up recordings of outdoor objects. For example, I'd like to capture the ambient sounds of the construction site but also make detailed recordings of, say, machines operating there. In forests, I'd want to do the same: capture both ambient sounds and make close-up recordings of running creeks. So the microphones would need to be diverse in both recording direction and max. SPL.

Equipment I've set my eyes on
- Tascam DR680 MKII field recorder;
- Shure SM57 to capture sudden sounds with a high SPL;
- Røde NTG2 as a shotgun mic;
- DPA 4061 F34 to record sounds in hard to reach spaces;
- Røde NT4 to record general ambient sounds.

Additionally, I've yet to look into boompoles and blimps. I'm hoping to stay within the bounds of my €2k budget, although that seems increasingly unlikely.

Any thoughts?

TopherPirkl
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2015, 04:04:35 PM »