Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411430 Posts in 69363 Topics- by 58416 Members - Latest Member: JamesAGreen

April 20, 2024, 12:26:49 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsJobsCollaborationsProgrammer needed Real-Time, Choose your Own Adventure, Tamagotchi-like Puzzzler
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Programmer needed Real-Time, Choose your Own Adventure, Tamagotchi-like Puzzzler  (Read 734 times)
matwek
« on: August 03, 2015, 11:31:04 AM »

Just a quick introduction as to who I am. I’m a Pixel Artist and game Designer who has worked freelance in the indie scene for a few years now.

Some of the more notable games I’ve worked on in the past are…

Both of which are heading and have been to various game shows around the world backed by Nintendo.

It’s kind of hard to describe the game I want to make but I’ll do my best to explain. It’s not overly complex (in fact I would love to keep it as simple as possible), I just can’t think of many other games to compare it to.

The best way I could describe it is as a Real-Time, Choose your Own Adventure, Tamagotchi -like Puzzler.
There are three main parts to the game. Conversations, Puzzles & Events

--- Conversations ---
The player starts the game by receiving a message from a character and after a series of options a conversation is experienced.
It would be standard Choose Your Own Adventure style options, some choices lead to minor deviations in the conversation where as some could lead to various story changing events.

The twist is that these messages happen in real time from the moment you start the game.
For example if you fail to answer a question in a set time from when it was asked then you may send the conversation down a different path.
Also, once a conversation is over, that’s it until the messenger sends another message.