Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411430 Posts in 69363 Topics- by 58416 Members - Latest Member: JamesAGreen

April 19, 2024, 06:05:18 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsBogey Green Golf
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Bogey Green Golf  (Read 4870 times)
goshdarngames
Level 0

View Profile
« on: August 11, 2015, 03:33:58 AM »

Bogey Green Golf is (will be) a simple 3D mini-golf game for one player or multiplayer hot seat.

The game is being developed using Unity3D and will be published for WebGL on GameJolt, Kongregate and possibly other game hubs.

This is my first time to attempt a 3D game though I have made a few 2D games in the past.

About This Devlog:

This is my first time creating a devlog for a project.  I will update it with each significant piece of work I do.

As this is my first time creating a 3D game I'm sure to learn lots as I go so I will try and share anything I learn here.

Developer Info:

More information can be found here:

Website - Twitter - Tumblr - reddit
« Last Edit: August 11, 2015, 03:52:24 AM by goshdarngames » Logged
goshdarngames
Level 0

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2015, 03:51:28 AM »

Getting The Ball Rolling:

The first task I set myself was to create a 3D golf ball complete with dimples.

The first method I thought of was to create an image with circles arranged in a hexagonal grid and apply that as a texture to a sphere.

I created this texture using Context Free Art:

I used the following tutorial to create a UV map for the sphere and applied the texture:  

It explained things well but unfortunately the technique did not produce good results.