Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411486 Posts in 69371 Topics- by 58427 Members - Latest Member: shelton786

April 24, 2024, 10:45:22 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)Detecting Number of Collisions With An Object (GM:S)
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Detecting Number of Collisions With An Object (GM:S)  (Read 676 times)
thickspit
Level 0

devil square

View Profile WWW
« on: August 24, 2015, 07:03:59 PM »

This is my first time going to a forum to ask for code help. Picture me gently weeping. Cry
Now, for the problem:

It's pretty simple:
If three or more blocks (i use obj_block_parent as a parent for all of the different colors) of the same color are adjacent, they get destroyed. The problem is, I can't seem to find a way of detecting the number of instances currently colliding with the calling instance. (And get their id's, because I'd need to do that to if I wanted to destroy them from the calling instance.)

Can someone wiser than I come up with a method to get the job done? I hope I described it halfway well.

~Much Appreciated.

mokesmoe
Level 10

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2015, 05:19:10 AM »

Code:
var ids, amount = 0;
with(object){
    if place_meeting(x,y,other){
        ids[amount] = id
        amount += 1
    }
}
thickspit
Level 0

devil square

View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2015, 12:04:34 PM »

Sorry to bother, but could you elaborate a little? I'm not entirely sure how to use this.
@Alex@
Level 0

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2015, 02:18:55 PM »