Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411609 Posts in 69388 Topics- by 58448 Members - Latest Member: NESIA

May 09, 2024, 08:29:32 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)issues with SFML ->normal or am I too noob ? + what do you think of Godot engine
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: issues with SFML ->normal or am I too noob ? + what do you think of Godot engine  (Read 1963 times)
Adinimys
Level 0

View Profile
« on: September 05, 2015, 01:09:36 PM »

Hello everyone Smiley I hope that I'm posting in the good section.

I recently started coding my own 2d game using SFML. It has quite simple requirments as I only want simple tile based 2d without any physics and collision detection.
One of the computer I'm using is a really basic laptop with 1Ghz processor, 2Go RAM (and about the GPU, I'm sure you can guess it's not a GTX980  Tongue) and with some non-moving sprites my game was running around 50fps. But has soon has I start moving the mouse it's lagging horribly, down to 1-5fps. I'm using a sprite for my cursos and each frame I use the sf::Mouse to get the position of the mouse and compare it to previous position to update the position of the mouse.
I have checked several times that there was no stupid overhead in the calculation of the cursor position and I still don't understand the issue.

So my questions are :
    -from your experience with SFML, could you confirm that it's efficient enough to run on such a computer for basic stuff (so that you have a scale of power, it can run Super Meat Boy and Crypt of the Necrodancer with only small slowdowns when killing monsters) ? Has someone encountered such a thing before ?
    -how are you managing the cursor position ? Is it different from my solution ? (i don't see anything else to do...)