Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411506 Posts in 69374 Topics- by 58429 Members - Latest Member: Alternalo

April 25, 2024, 10:32:51 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperArt (Moderator: JWK5)Low poly 3D in Blender - Help? Tips?
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Low poly 3D in Blender - Help? Tips?  (Read 3496 times)
USUNM@
Level 0

View Profile
« on: October 01, 2015, 07:23:09 PM »

Hey there! I know the basics of Blender, and have made a few low poly things, but I'm not getting the results I'm looking for.
I'm using Blender 2.6 and so far I've made Low poly models like this:
But I'm not quite getting the feel I want it to have.
I kind of want it to look like this:
I do try to do pixel art texturing, and I am still learning. Any tips?
cynicalsandel
Level 7

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2015, 08:00:32 PM »

The texture in your model isn't pixel art so switching that would be the first thing. When making pixel art low poly textures you want to make them at powers of two. 2, 4, 8, 16, 32, 64, 128...

http://www.textures-resource.com/playstation/megamanlegends2/

There are the actual textures for Mega Man Legends. You could study those if you want.

Aside from that the reason you aren't getting the results you are looking for is because your skill level just isn't there yet. You need more practice. One from a basic art standpoint and another in regards to 3D modelling. 3D art, Lowpoly especially, is about effective use of a limited number of polygons. The mouth and chin area stands out to me as a specifically wasteful.

My honest advice is to

1. Study low poly wireframes* to see effective limited use of polygons. Wireframes* specifically because textured models can be misleading to a novice's eye. This thread might also be helpful.