Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411491 Posts in 69371 Topics- by 58428 Members - Latest Member: shelton786

April 25, 2024, 03:40:48 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsPlayerGeneralMissing the point of "retro"
Pages: [1] 2 3 4
Print
Author Topic: Missing the point of "retro"  (Read 5405 times)
Moon Goon
Level 1

View Profile
« on: November 17, 2015, 01:24:52 PM »

Full article here: http://retrogamingmagazine.com/2015/11/17/were-all-doing-classic-gaming-wrong-2/

Basically, I think "Retro" has been misconstrued at times.  There's something missed from the pre Nintendo days.  Something that's more than simplicity and chunky graphics.  I dunno.  I could be misreading things.  What say y'all?

I'm a PEEK'er. I'm a POKE'er. And I'm a midnight coder. I type my programs and hit RUN.

Check out itch.io for my Atari 2600 game ROMs! http://theloon.itch.io/
JWK5
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2015, 01:40:18 PM »

Nostalgia.
Cobralad
Cowardly Baby
Level 10

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2015, 01:46:43 PM »

castlevania 1 is garbage
JWK5
« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2015, 01:57:09 PM »

castlevania 1 is garbage
LIES!!

Castlevania does have some bullshit design moments here and there but ultimately it has pretty solid gameplay and is impressive (for its time) in the what it pulls off graphically (especially in regards to its use of color) and aurally (easily one of the best NES soundtracks).

Demon's/Dark Souls actually reminded me very much of the NES Castlevania games in the way the combat and movement creates a very deliberate pace with careful attention to timing.
gimymblert
Level 10

The archivest master, leader of all documents

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 17, 2015, 02:00:36 PM »

is minecraft retro?

I think there is a confusion, my generation says pixel art, 12+ years old say retro.