Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411276 Posts in 69323 Topics- by 58380 Members - Latest Member: bob1029

March 28, 2024, 12:26:44 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperBusinessStarting the Company
Pages: [1] 2
Print
Author Topic: Starting the Company  (Read 33068 times)
frosty
Level 1

ice cold & refreshing

View Profile WWW
« on: October 14, 2007, 08:09:35 PM »

No one has started a thread on this yet, so I thought I'd get the ball rolling.  This isn't a comprehensive HOWTO, just my experience and opinion as a full-time indie who started a business in California and has sold games online in the past year.  I was a total beginner when I started.

Note: I am not a lawyer or accountant.  This is not legal or financial advice.  Use your own judgment and/or consult a professional.

Pulling the Trigger

First, I know some people avoid starting a business because they don't want to go through the hassle of the paperwork, taxes, risk of lawsuit, lack of insurance, etc.  Some people even release their products for free just to avoid this.  I think a lot of this attitude stems from fear of the unknown, and overestimating the difficulty of it.  They will work a life-time at a "safe" job that they hate, to avoid a few days of work that could lead to an independent livelihood doing something they love.

It's not as hard as you might think.
If you can program or design computer games, you're smart enough to start a company.  If the guy running a hot dog stand at the local park can do it, so can you.  There were 17 million small businesses in America in 2002, outnumbering "big" businesses 3-to-1.   So you're not alone.

Plus, a software company is probably the easiest business to start: no inventory, no real estate, no customers visiting you, no complicated licensing or health codes to follow, no credit card processing, etc.