Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

 
Advanced search

878078 Posts in 32904 Topics- by 24326 Members - Latest Member: GeneralSparkzz

May 21, 2013, 05:28:41 AM
TIGSource ForumsCommunityAnnouncements"Green-Grey World"
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4
Print
Author Topic: "Green-Grey World"  (Read 7237 times)
mirosurabu
Guest
« Reply #30 on: September 30, 2009, 08:54:21 AM »

Quote from: Spil Games
HI Miroslav,Thanks for letting me know. I did not know that game, so I did not know that Green Gray World was a bit of a clone.

We’ll keep a close eye on the game and any legal developments.

Thanks again.

Reply from Spil Games.

I sent them another e-mail pointing out that GGW is not just a bit of a clone and that if I ported original game and tried to look for sponsorship I will be rejected for simple that it is way too similar to GGW.
Logged
allen
Level 10
*****



View Profile WWW
« Reply #31 on: September 30, 2009, 10:21:27 AM »

"bit of a clone?" yikes. Screw Spil Games.

keep a close eye on the game? wow... they could just avert any "legal developments" (ho ho  :D) by simply removing it.
Logged
lokijki
Level 1
*



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #32 on: September 30, 2009, 07:29:07 PM »

Got another response from the guy. (A few more, actually.)

So now he's refused my offer to change the game to a port, and he's also said that he can't remove "his" game because its already on 100+ websites.

Its getting very frustrating, as most of his replies assume everything's fine because he's already put my name in the credits page. (Without a link back to the original game, of course.)

But I have gotten into contact with several other people besides him about the game. Steve from FlashGamesLicense.com said he'd look into it, and MochiAds said everything checked out and I asked them to see what they could do about removing the game. Still waiting for replies back, but hopefully everything will work out ok.
Logged

My games - Only at GameJolt.com
I have a blog!
allen
Level 10
*****



View Profile WWW
« Reply #33 on: September 30, 2009, 09:16:04 PM »

that sucks hard I figured there would be nothing you can do..although I believe the "100's of portals" would just be all of the sites Spil Games owns (company that sponsored him).

if anything, I hope that MochiAds and FGL at least come around.
Logged
moi
Level 10
*****


shitposting is the new black


View Profile WWW
« Reply #34 on: September 30, 2009, 09:20:25 PM »

Technically MochiAds is making money off plagiarized work.
A good frontpaging could be useful here Well, hello there!
Logged

lelebćcülo
mirosurabu
Guest
« Reply #35 on: September 30, 2009, 10:44:17 PM »

Huje Tower was removed from Kongregate because it played like World of Goo (and in no way it is a port of WoG) and author had to get the permission from 2DBoy to release it. But that's WoG.
Logged
Aquin
Level 10
*****


Aquin is over here.


View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #36 on: October 01, 2009, 09:52:35 AM »

Yeah I played Green-Grey BEFORE playing Lightning.  Then I tried Lightning to see the similarities.

WOW.  It's basically the SAME game, except for a few bugs introduced by Green-Grey.  The same levels, same graphics, same blah blah blah.  I mean, the music is different.  Hurray?

You know I didn't realize how many outright steals (I ain't calling it a clone) exist out there.  I had no idea how pervasive it was until I started going through the forum on this site. 

It's ridiculous.  Why would a programmer waste his time creating an exact duplicate of someone else's work?  And then pass it off as his own on *the INTERNET*?  What kind of mish-mash of somewhat-intelligent and awesomely-stupid is this human being?
Logged

I'd write a devlog about my current game, but I'm too busy making it.
lokijki
Level 1
*



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #37 on: October 01, 2009, 12:10:24 PM »

Alright, got another reply from MochiMedia, basically saying its not their problem.

They told me to work it out with the developer, and looking at his replies so far, that probably isn't going to work.

I think at this point it would be really helpful if you guys just started emailing people; the developer ([email protected], posted a page back), Kongregate (Who I haven't contacted yet), MochiMedia, and any other big site where this game is being hosted. I've contacted a lot of people, and really no ones taken any action yet.

Also, I was pointed to MochiMedia's copywrite dispute page. If anyone thinks they can help decipher it and do something with it, please do. I'm really no good with this sort of thing. Smiley
Logged

My games - Only at GameJolt.com
I have a blog!
alexandersshen
Level 1
*


What's a battle?


View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #38 on: October 01, 2009, 01:01:16 PM »

We're actually looking into it again.  I was truly hoping something could be worked out outside of Mochi as the Flash developer seemed somewhat willing to compromise.  It seems like this isn't the case.  Thanks for bringing it into our attention.
Logged
alexandersshen
Level 1
*


What's a battle?


View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #39 on: October 01, 2009, 01:07:37 PM »

The game is now disabled for both ads and distribution.  Unfortunately, the game has spread quite significantly and needs to be taken down manually.  As an indie myself, I'll also do my part in e-mailing the appropriate parties to see what we can do to resolve the situation.  Again, sincere apologies.
Logged
lokijki
Level 1
*



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #40 on: October 01, 2009, 01:15:11 PM »

Was just coming here to post that; Thanks for this.

I'm sorry I couldn't work something out with the developer; but I really appreciate your help and cooperation. This whole thing has been a rather frustrating chain of events. Tongue
Logged

My games - Only at GameJolt.com
I have a blog!
alexandersshen
Level 1
*


What's a battle?


View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #41 on: October 01, 2009, 01:18:22 PM »

Was just coming here to post that; Thanks for this.

I'm sorry I couldn't work something out with the developer; but I really appreciate your help and cooperation. This whole thing has been a rather frustrating chain of events. Tongue

I will whole-heartedly admit that I should have been more sensitive and proactive to your request.  I'm slightly ashamed in myself and where my roots lie (here, that is).   Embarrassed
Logged
Zaphos
Guest
« Reply #42 on: October 01, 2009, 01:39:36 PM »

Quote from: Spil Games
HI Miroslav,Thanks for letting me know. I did not know that game, so I did not know that Green Gray World was a bit of a clone.

We’ll keep a close eye on the game and any legal developments.

Thanks again.

Reply from Spil Games.

I sent them another e-mail pointing out that GGW is not just a bit of a clone and that if I ported original game and tried to look for sponsorship I will be rejected for simple that it is way too similar to GGW.
Maybe they're waiting for an actual cease and desist notice?  Like http://www.utsystem.edu/OGC/INTELLECTUALPROPERTY/contract/cease.htm or etc.

If it's a clear case of copyright infringement, I think that's the sort of thing people send out.
Logged
mirosurabu
Guest
« Reply #43 on: October 02, 2009, 09:16:14 PM »

Newgrounds contacted. (sent PM to Wade)
Greg from Kongregate contacted. (I couldn't figure out where I should report illegal content so I just sent him mail directly)

SpilGames staff doesn't seem to care much. I should ask them clearly to remove the game from their portal I guess.
Logged
jazmeister
Level 0
**


View Profile Email
« Reply #44 on: October 03, 2009, 05:15:27 PM »

Definitely do that. It's your content, you have a right to say what happens to it and who uses it, and portals aren't gonna mess you around if you're firm, clear, and polite. Just get all your evidence ready just in case. And brush yo teef!
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4
Print
Jump to:  

Theme orange-lt created by panic