Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411641 Posts in 69394 Topics- by 58449 Members - Latest Member: pp_mech

May 14, 2024, 03:09:55 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsJobsCollaborationsTwitch plays type game? I'm an artist (Need a programmer)
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Twitch plays type game? I'm an artist (Need a programmer)  (Read 2257 times)
rocketmangrf
« on: May 19, 2014, 08:55:17 AM »

Hi I'm an artist and I want to make a game and I've never made a game before. I have some understanding of how to use GML is game maker.

I had an idea of making some kind of game that was designed to be played by Twitch. The game is only played though once, but by Twitch. Along the same vein as Twitch Plays Pokemon.

It would need to have very simple controls, ones that could be used by an IRC Bot, and a pretty sweet looking 8/16 bit game aesthetic, lots of things to discover about the world.

At the very heart of the game I would want it to be about the internet. Maybe even some kind of "saving the internet" type story.

It's sort of dark to in some ways.

Not sure exactly what else.

But I want to make the kind of game that twitch plays pokemon was. Thousands of people playing one game and over coming a challenge.

I need to learn to make game assets but here are some examples of things I have made in the past to show my current skill set.

An idea I'm working on called The Subject of Saturn, it's about 2D vs 3D. A 3D cube of death has come to destroy the world. And you are the only one that can stop it.

As for game aesthetic, as a point of reference I would aim to have it just feel awesome like  Hyper Light Drifter, or Radio the Universe. Not saying I'm that good to be able to do that right off the bat, but it would be my goal.

Radio the Universe has to be the coolest thing I've ever seen though.