Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411588 Posts in 69386 Topics- by 58443 Members - Latest Member: Mansreign

May 06, 2024, 10:15:56 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsNo More Nights - Relaxed island exploration plus depression
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: No More Nights - Relaxed island exploration plus depression  (Read 5153 times)
Fenreliania
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« on: October 05, 2017, 11:51:53 PM »

No More Nights is something of a theraputic project for me. You explore a lonely island, and that's about it for the basic scope. Depending on how long it takes and how I hold up while making it, I may then add some "events" and story on top of the island - all of which will be a very metaphorical discussion about my experience with depression.
I'm not an artist, but I'm sketching out some areas I want to include on the island to make it easier to piece it together and model. I'm also not a level designer so this makes things easier.

I want the mood to be very alone, but in a positive way. There's nobody else here, everything is still and pretty, and you have plenty of time to take it in. Reminiscent of early Minecraft, where all you did was look at the landscape, but also inspired by my memories of walking through suburban Australian neighbourhoods and the tranquillity of the trees in the pale summer sun.

I don't have a specific timespan for this game, but it's relatively simple under the basic scope - The only action is to walk, so most of the work is in modelling the environment, and if I add the story then most of the extra work is animation. It's not the most impressive project but I'm looking forward to it. I want to provide some calm and comfort to people, especially these days. I also just want to improve my artistic skills in general, and give myself a bit of a break from the programming side of things.