Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411594 Posts in 69387 Topics- by 58445 Members - Latest Member: gravitygat

May 08, 2024, 05:52:00 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperBusinessLearn How To MARKET or Hire Someone To Do It For You!
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Learn How To MARKET or Hire Someone To Do It For You!  (Read 1837 times)
Majestic
Level 2

View Profile WWW
« on: September 14, 2011, 11:42:02 AM »

What's up TIGSource. I just signed up on this site. I am an aspiring freelance game musician, I'm currently doing music for a small indie game now to be released on xbox live and windows 7 phone.

But let me get to my point. Why is everyone so negative on gamedev forums? They make it seem like it's damn near impossible to make money from your passion and sell Indie Games. It IS possible, it's just most don't have the proper information.

There are some talented folks on here, and I want to see the Indie scene thrive. I want to see people release their creative power , make their vision come true, and make money doing it.

I lurk around Indie game forums and I see people listing their team members, ( the graphics artists, programmers, composers, level designers, etc. ) But I always see a position missing that, in my opinion, constitutes whether a game makes money or not.

Marketer. If you don't know how to market, your most likely not going to make any money or make very little money. This isn't just for Indie video games..this goes for ALL creative artists: musicians, animators, filmmakers, artists, recording artists, etc.  

Your game company is your brand, and your game is your product.

People don't just buy products because their good, 95% of purchasing decisions come from the subconscious. It's the emotional appeal that makes people buy.