Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411613 Posts in 69390 Topics- by 58447 Members - Latest Member: sinsofsven

May 09, 2024, 06:19:11 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityTownhallForum IssuesArchived subforums (read only)TutorialsAS3: Dynamic outlines with variable thickness tutorial!
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: AS3: Dynamic outlines with variable thickness tutorial!  (Read 8345 times)
Moczan
« on: August 15, 2012, 04:04:42 PM »

Hi! I want to start by saying that it's my first tutorial ever, so if I miss something or doesn't explain, don't be afraid to ask!

What you need to know before we start:
  • Basic knowledge of AS3
  • BitmapData class and copyPixels function

That's pretty much it. If you can display sprite from PNG file on your screen using AS3, soon you will be able to add outline to it.
I'm not really good with words, so I will mostly use code and images.
Let's start by creating some basic variables.

canvas is our 'main' BitmapData we will draw on. We will pass it to Bitmap object to display it on scree.
pikachu holds our graphics. I used [Embed] tag to add sprite to the project, that's where PikaGraphics come from.
outline is a very important object. It's a rectangle that defines color of our outline. It should be at least as big as our sprite (that's why I used pikachu's dimension creating it). With some tweaks to the code you could even create outlines with gradient!
p is a simple Point with sprite's position on screen.

The last thing to prepare is our Bitmap object, I pass canvas in to it, scale it up to x2 for better visibility and add it to stage.
At that point we are ready to display our Pokemon. Just add this simple line.

Result: