Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411562 Posts in 69384 Topics- by 58443 Members - Latest Member: junkmail

May 03, 2024, 11:22:45 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsJetpack Tower
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Jetpack Tower  (Read 1076 times)
jeffrobot
Level 1

View Profile
« on: May 12, 2013, 05:54:12 PM »

Jetpack Tower is a game about a little man on the ground standing in front of a tower that is so tall it disappears into the clouds. But the little man has a jet pack.

That's the basic premise for the game. I only began programming it on the 10th, and have only put 4 or 5 hours in. I'm hoping having a devlog helps me stay motivated to work on it.

It is 2D and I am programming it in Flash. I'd like for it to be 3D, but I'm not that good with Unity. Maybe some day.
Happy Shabby Games
Level 8

msmymo

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2013, 05:59:31 PM »

i love 2d tricks like that. could totally tell i was looking up at some super tall thing

jeffrobot
Level 1

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2013, 07:12:58 PM »

Added a new background image for while I'm programming. Definitely makes it more pleasant. The little black guy down there is the protagonist.

I haven't programmed the jetpack yet. I'm getting basic movement down first. I want it to feel really good, because the jetpack will build on top of that.

I was using floaty video game jumping where you can still control your character in the air. Today I switched it so that you can't control while you're in the air, and you just soar with the momentum you left the ground with. I think I like it more.

Immediate things to do are:
-give this guy some legs and animate said legs. I want to animate them programmatically so they can respond to events ingame dynamically. That said, it will be very simple at first.