Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411582 Posts in 69386 Topics- by 58445 Members - Latest Member: Mansreign

May 06, 2024, 03:20:40 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperArt (Moderator: JWK5)simple pixel art knight
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: simple pixel art knight  (Read 3018 times)
rrc
Level 0

View Profile
« on: August 28, 2021, 10:24:46 PM »

Hi how are things?
You see, I wanted to show you some of the sprites that I'm using for my new video game, what do you think?
The truth is that I am new to this so I am open to criticism

ThemsAllTook
Administrator
Level 10

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2021, 06:13:55 AM »

There are some nice things going on here. I like the color choices. The main thing I'd change would be to have every sprite use the same pixel size. There's a pretty wild mix of resolutions going on here, which causes all kinds of artifacting and clashing. Those seams that are showing up in the wall near the character in the first picture wouldn't happen the same way if everything was drawn to a fixed-resolution canvas at 1x before being scaled up for presentation. (There might still be a gap there, but the fix would be more obvious - it'd either be 1 full pixel or not be there are all.)

A more minor point on the character sprite: The line right near the waist where tunic meets legplates has a boundary of two colors that are extremely similar. I think it would read better if the dark gray and dark maroon had more contrast between each other, either with some sort of boundary line or just choosing different color values that are more different in brightness.

Keep practicing! This is a good start. If you're writing a game with these graphics, it might be fun to start a devlog. Also, we'd love to see you introduce yourself in the dedicated thread for it!

yet-another-painter
Level 0

View Profile WWW