Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411524 Posts in 69381 Topics- by 58436 Members - Latest Member: GlitchyPSI

May 01, 2024, 05:17:40 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsGambit [iOS Tactics Game]
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Gambit [iOS Tactics Game]  (Read 974 times)
Spoilercat
Level 0

View Profile
« on: January 22, 2014, 04:06:33 PM »

Gambit

Hello all, thanks for stopping in! This devlog is devoted to Gambit, which I've been working on solo for the past seven months. Gambit is a tactics game in the vein of Final Fantasy Tactics Advance.

(Above: Explosion ability in action.)

Gambit emphasizes anticipating the opponent's actions and controlling the battlefield. In this screenshot the blue team uses the blockage ability to prevent an enemy from attacking from behind...

But the red team's character uses its own ability to create a fire to force out the enemy.

There is a light RPG mechanic of creating characters out of parts which have various statistics.

For anyone curious about the tools/languages, Gambit is written entirely in Objective-C, and uses OpenGL ES 2.0 in a not-quite-game-engine I wrote for this game. I wrote my code to load in OBJ and COLLADA files.

On the graphics side, I use Blender for inanimate objects (apart from the maps, whose geometry is generated either randomly or from text files specifying heights of each cell) and animation. For modeling the characters I use Zbrush. Yes, Zbrush for low poly art. I am a terrible person.

The game mechanics are basically done, though the art and UI could use some work, and I still have yet to make any music or sound effects. I'll be working on that, as well as the multiplayer and maybe better AI in the coming weeks.
« Last Edit: January 28, 2014, 03:37:55 PM by Spoilercat » Logged
Spoilercat
Level 0

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2014, 03:37:29 PM »