Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411710 Posts in 69402 Topics- by 58456 Members - Latest Member: FezzikTheGiant

May 20, 2024, 10:11:36 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperDesignGoing back to basics: 2D Level design, where to start?
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Going back to basics: 2D Level design, where to start?  (Read 3041 times)
Majestic XII
TIGBaby

View Profile WWW
« on: November 03, 2010, 01:08:18 PM »

Hey guys!

I'm a quite experienced level designer in the world of Source and UDK, but I keep getting flashbacks from earlier times. When games were in 2D and you didn't have to care about that lousy third dimension.

So my plan is to change it up a bit, do something that I don't do anymore; 2D level design. But the question is, where do I go? I'm looking for a fun single- or multiplayer game, genre isn't really important (open for everything basically... but something like Monaco would be great! :D Spy-themed!)

Do you know a cool game that has a level editor, or do you need maps for your game and are willing to let me have a go at it? Let me know!

Cheers mates,
Razz
Level 6

subtle shitposter

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2010, 01:25:26 PM »

Well, to answer your question, Knytt Stories has a neat little level editor. It's interesting because you can edit any level you want to, even the official levels, so if you're looking for inspiration or ideas I'd suggest doing that.

Also, please introduce yourself here.

moi
Level 10

DILF SANTA

View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2010, 01:30:58 PM »

construct or Game Makers are 2d level editors

subsystems   subsystems   subsystems
ink.inc
« Reply #3 on: November 03, 2010, 01:45:09 PM »

...and Game Makers are 2d level editors

Game Maker does not have a 2d level editor. What it has is an abomination. A disease to mankind.
Razz
Level 6