Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411589 Posts in 69386 Topics- by 58443 Members - Latest Member: Mansreign

May 07, 2024, 02:36:05 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsJobsCollaborationsNeed a level designer for a 3D arcade style game - Project Burst
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Need a level designer for a 3D arcade style game - Project Burst  (Read 668 times)
dre38w
TIGBaby

View Profile
« on: February 26, 2013, 02:53:26 PM »

Hello, forum!

My name is Drew and I'm a programmer and a designer.  I am part of a small team consisting of dedicated, talented people.  Artists (both 2D and 3D), designers, a sound engineer and a programmer (me).  But we have an important position that needs to be filled.  Level designer.

The project we're working on is called Project Burst.  (We're debating on a more official name but that'll work for now)  It's a 3D arcade style game, and in most levels there are some platforming elements.  We have a cartoon-ish bubbly art style we're shooting for.  Right now we have some placeholders to get the general art direction across.  We have a working prototype that shows off the core gameplay mechanics.

I'll elaborate more on the game itself.  The player will control a ball.  Roll around a vibrant world and utilizing a boost ability to knock other balls into various holes.  The player can jump and combining that with air boosting will create some interesting platforming.

We have a few level concepts written out so you won't be going in blind.  The levels will amplify the affect the game mechanics have on the player.  But we sort of lack that skill to actually piece these level concepts together.