Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411583 Posts in 69386 Topics- by 58445 Members - Latest Member: Mansreign

May 06, 2024, 04:56:59 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperAudioVoice Acting!
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Voice Acting!  (Read 1178 times)
TomaMoto
Level 0

Voice Actor

View Profile WWW
« on: June 06, 2011, 10:39:24 PM »

Hey, Joshua Tomar here.  It's my first time posting on TIGSource, so if I say anything particularly ignorant, I don't expect your forgiveness, but at least you'll know why.  I'll start by saying I am "a little bit of game developer", though the only "finished" game I have to show for it is this: http://www.newgrounds.com/portal/view/465205.  All of my experience so far is with Flash/AS3 and XNA/C#, and while I love game design and programming, I could certainly use some more practice.

Right now, however, I want to talk about voice acting.  First and foremost, I love it.  Recently, I've found that more and more of my voice jobs are coming from the independent game scene, and it's been fantastic.  Not only has it proven to be a great community (at least from my limited taste thus far), but it's really helped me to appreciate the amazing power and creative capacity of small 1-to-10-man teams.

I'll concede outright that some games just don't warrant voice acting.  I totally get that.  Sometimes voice acting even diminishes some of the value of an otherwise decent game.  Has anyone gotten a chance to play Trouble Witches Neo for XBLA?  On that same token, though, I feel that many games have been enhanced through the use of good voice acting.