Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411582 Posts in 69386 Topics- by 58445 Members - Latest Member: Mansreign

May 06, 2024, 01:40:56 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsJobsCollaborationsProgrammer Looking for a Project
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Programmer Looking for a Project  (Read 560 times)
wyrmmage
Level 0

View Profile
« on: May 06, 2014, 12:28:22 PM »

Hello everyone,

I'm a hobbyist game programmer who's worked on several little games of the years and even gotten one or two to a moderately playable state, but never officially released anything.

I'm looking for a game to join that I can be a programmer on. I don't have to be the main programmer, so long as I can have some say in how things are constructed and generally have a good time programming :)

Over the last few years, I've been working on several games, but I keep running into a couple of key problems, namely:

• The team falls apart before the game's completed. I don't know how much I can prevent this, but I think that if I found an existing team that's looking for a programmer, it might work better than me going out and trying to assemble a team, which is what I've done in the past. For instance, the latest game that I was working on was one that was designed to teach people Chinese, Japanese, Spanish, or French, but everyone disbanded within a few months, so it didn't make it very far.
  • If I'm working on a project by myself, the game doesn't end up being much fun. I'm just not particularly inventive nor creative, and while I'm good enough at coming up with overarching ideas for gameplay, I just can't really get even moderately fine details hashed out. It would be nice to have someone that has a really good idea for a game, instead of my admittedly mediocre ones, and then have that person flesh things out while I worked on programming them.