Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411665 Posts in 69396 Topics- by 58452 Members - Latest Member: Monkey Nuts

May 16, 2024, 06:38:10 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperArt (Moderator: JWK5)A Little Help Pixel Artists
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: A Little Help Pixel Artists  (Read 2431 times)
Mega
Level 1

View Profile
« on: March 05, 2011, 10:54:54 PM »

Hello, Im a novice developer and I wanted to know what you guys think is the best method to print pixel art to the screen.
I want to know 2 things:

1)How to print a pixel to a window
  (I know all about HDC's, API's widnows, etc.just not the graphic part of it, but if
  there's a lowlevel back water way I'd love to know that especially)

2)How to do this printing quickly, so that I could, say change a screen from all red, to all yellow in less than a second. etc (and I know thats thousands of pixels but we see it everyday. so how, or whats the best approach?)

3)how to load a bitmap, (or build a loader function) and have it stored in memory (or where ever) for use by a program.

Sorry for the baseness of these questions but these are the major problems I need to solve. Ascii graphic display units are too big and the quality is very poor.

I'm willing to read any mountain of information from a noob friendly source if you'd send me in the right direction or breifly explain here, please.  
« Last Edit: March 06, 2011, 02:21:36 AM by Glinka » Logged
thedaemon
Level 2

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2011, 01:37:54 PM »

2) POKE 53280, 1
shadowdim
Level 1

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2011, 01:40:41 PM »

Ow. Games nowadays don't draw one pixel at a time.
YOU draw pixel art, save it as an image, and load it in your code.
siiseli
Level 6

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 06, 2011, 03:04:27 PM »