Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411588 Posts in 69386 Topics- by 58443 Members - Latest Member: Mansreign

May 06, 2024, 12:48:09 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsa dream to fly - OST Completed
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: a dream to fly - OST Completed  (Read 1456 times)
brettchalupa
« on: February 20, 2012, 11:06:50 AM »

I think I am finally ready to make a devlog for the game I've been working on for the past two months.
a dream to fly is getting a make-over!

The original flash prototype was built with Flixel, and it was my first time using it. I had a ton of fun, and I decided to continue with the idea. The prototype has a finite end and a finite space, where the player must simply collect the "coins" before time runs out.

Play v0.1.0 here.

After making the initial prototype, a lot changed in my life (for the better). I've been working on the game full-time and started my own business. Since then, I've completely changed the way the game works, added a lot of new sprites, and have a close friend, Jon Buresh, working on the audio.

A week after v0.1.0, I started reworking the game and that sort of thing.

Play v0.1.1 here.

Thinking back to this version, I rotation the orientation to landscape and changed the resolution. I also added in the white star sprites and the red stars. In this version, there is no real difference between the stars.

In the future, the red stars explode when grappled. That sprite has definitely changed.  Droop

I eventually added mouse control, where clicking or pressing space works for input. Version 0.1.2 also has black holes added, which teleport the player to another random black hole.

Play v0.1.2 here.

I also started working on some of the sprites in the game around this time.

Here is a taste of the early sprites: