Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411603 Posts in 69388 Topics- by 58445 Members - Latest Member: gravitygat

May 08, 2024, 12:42:40 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperBusinessSim games trademark question
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Sim games trademark question  (Read 2058 times)
Ooops
Level 0

View Profile
« on: January 01, 2012, 06:09:26 AM »

Hello.

I am currently in the process of developing a sim/management game (for the sake of argument, let's say it's about managing a record company).

I would like to call it, say, SimRecordCompany.

Would I be violating Electronic Arts trademark? From my research, it seems that only the names of the specific games (Simcity, Simearth, SimAnt, etc.) have been trademarked, but I'm no lawyer and I have no idea if this means that anyone can use other SimXxx names.

Would be most grateful for insight from anybody "in the know".

Take care,
Ooops
Christian Knudsen
Level 10

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2012, 07:43:27 AM »

I'm not a lawyer, but I wouldn't call my game SimAnything. It'd be like making an electronics device and calling it iSomething. You run quite a risk of getting in trouble.

Laserbrain Studios
Currently working on Hidden Asset (TIGSource DevLog)
Bishop
Level 2

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 01, 2012, 09:45:23 AM »

From what I understand, a lot of it has to do with additional similarities, like fonts, colours and logos. The idea is to protect customers from businesses attempting to mislead them into think they're the official whatever.
Christian Knudsen
Level 10

View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: January 01, 2012, 10:52:20 AM »