Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411594 Posts in 69387 Topics- by 58444 Members - Latest Member: YomiKu_0

May 08, 2024, 02:40:22 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperBusinessGame Development Recruiters
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Game Development Recruiters  (Read 2583 times)
StrictlyDominant
Level 0

View Profile
« on: January 22, 2012, 10:10:51 AM »

As much as I enjoy being able to create any game that I want, I have trouble finishing games.  I am a recent graduate and I have game developer ocd where I halt projects to start another one that I think up with full-intention of coming back to the original game but it rarely happens.

Because of this, I think it would be best for me to get a job at a company where I can pick up some good habits, learn to finish my games and hopefully become full indie afterward.  I have been looking through a lot of jobs online and I am obviously missing the professional experience to meet the qualifications for a programming job.

Has anyone hired a recruiter to help them find a job in the game industry?  If so, what was your experience with the situation?  How much does a service like this typically cost?  Should I stay far away from this?

Thanks in advanced.
increpare
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2012, 10:47:21 AM »

I am obviously missing the professional experience to meet the qualifications for a programming job.
There are such things as entry level programming jobs.  Certainly a lot easier to get an entry-level programming job rather than an entry-level design job.  You have to know how to do games programming/math stuff and have a small portfolio.

Most companies will ignore recruiters when it comes to entry-level stuff.  You gotta do the groundwork yourself, pretty much.