Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411576 Posts in 69386 Topics- by 58445 Members - Latest Member: Mansreign

May 05, 2024, 09:05:41 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperPlaytestingness2d - Open source 2D engine
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: ness2d - Open source 2D engine  (Read 1409 times)
cykboy
Level 2

ye

View Profile
« on: June 28, 2011, 10:37:04 AM »

Hey there!

So, recently I started programming a new 2D engine for Windows, Windows phone and the XBOX (XNA). I've mainly been focussing on the rendering aspects for its early development. Modularity is one of the key focuses of this engine, and I hope for people to be able to create their own games with it easily. I like to think of it as a 2D source engine.

Onto the features, it currently has:
  • Cull testing
  • Advanced lighting support with shadows
  • A custom particle system that runs on the GPU and CPU
  • Threaded/XNA update method "update manager"
  • A janitor "instance" to help garbage collection
  • Mutiple player input choices handled through a class (XBOX, KeyboardAndMouse ect.)
  • "Draw flags" which are used for custom rendering (shader supported)
  • Multiple types of "render target" - for example, you can have custom options such as hud or no hud
  • Multiple camera systems
  • Custom world matrix class - no use of XNA's Matrix class
  • XML map format - simple and lightweight
  • Sprite Z-coordinate sorting (lower z at back)