Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411579 Posts in 69386 Topics- by 58445 Members - Latest Member: Mansreign

May 05, 2024, 05:13:06 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)Flash: save a map as a string
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Flash: save a map as a string  (Read 1393 times)
Almost
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« on: July 02, 2010, 06:31:58 PM »

Hello!

So I am fairly new to flash, and am trying to figure out how to best save a map with actionscript. Although I haven't tried, I think sharedobjects would work locally, but I would like to be able to save these maps online. In particular, I was hoping on using Kongregate's content sharing API to manage a "user maps" feature. However, as I understand, for this to work a "map" would have to be represented by a single string.
Currently, a map in my game is defined by a few arrays of numbers/strings (one for walls, one for units, one for enemies).

Is there a good way to convert an array to raw data and then to a string and back or something like that?
The only other thing I could think of is making a messy save function that creates a long string like "walls[1,2,6,7]units[3,4],[3,5]enemies[4,8]". I could probably do this, but it seems like there is probably an easier way.

A game of mine: Ten Second War
Glaiel-Gamer
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2010, 06:38:54 PM »

bytearray.writeObject
st33d
« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2010, 02:10:21 AM »

Usually I have my map as a grid of indices that refer to specific tiles and some extra xml describing more complicated objects.

I mostly stick to this, because it means I can twiddle with the xml by hand if I need to and if I ever get a corrupted map I can just open up the xml, glance at it, and know what's wrong straight away. It may not be the most efficient way, but it's maintainable and easy to debug.
raigan
Level 5