Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411678 Posts in 69399 Topics- by 58453 Members - Latest Member: Arktitus

May 17, 2024, 09:23:39 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)Localization
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Localization  (Read 2185 times)
Average Software
Level 10

Fleeing all W'rkncacnter

View Profile WWW
« on: March 27, 2010, 09:44:15 AM »

I'm starting a new project, and with every project I do, I start it with the intent to do something I've never done before.  This time, that something is localization.

I've done some localization stuff on Mac OS X before for my job, so I have a rough idea of how it works there, but for Linux(Gtk) and Windows I only have a few vague ideas.

Has anyone ever done this before, and if so, what techniques and resources did you find useful?

What would John Carmack do?
Skofo
Level 10

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2010, 10:37:50 AM »

Use associative arrays?

Code:
text.english = {
  'victory': 'VICTORY!',
  'loss': 'I lost... D='
}
text.japanese = {
  'victory': '勝利!',
  'loss': '道に迷って。。。 (ιยดД`)'
}

If you wish to make a video game from scratch, you must first invent the universe.
Average Software
Level 10

Fleeing all W'rkncacnter

View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2010, 12:55:29 PM »

I should probably clarify that I'm looking for the official OS sanctioned localization techniques.

increpare
« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2010, 03:06:35 PM »

My main recommendation would be that you pick one particular unicode file-type and be very careful to only use it.  Oh man the pains I've had with file types are not inextensive!

As for the rest, here's what comes to mind - I'm guessing you're familiar with a lot of this stuff, but just in case...