Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411856 Posts in 69423 Topics- by 58467 Members - Latest Member: joelmendonca

June 03, 2024, 01:56:48 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperArt (Moderator: JWK5)Where to start?
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Where to start?  (Read 1701 times)
SoulSharer
Level 1

View Profile
« on: October 29, 2012, 09:43:44 AM »

I want to learn to draw characters and environment for games, but I'm completely new to this.
I mean I can draw really basic and crappy stuff, and thats pretty much all, lol.

I think it might take a while to get some decent drawing skills and I'm not afraid of this, still want to draw. But I don't know where to start.

Can anyone give some good resources like books (what books you think are the best for learning how to draw), articles or something else that might help me.
Thanks!
« Last Edit: October 29, 2012, 09:57:11 AM by Yaroslav » Logged

Twitter: twitter.com/SoulSharer
louisdeb
Level 4

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2012, 10:29:44 AM »

Check out the tutorials section. There's some good stuff there
clockwrk_routine
« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2012, 10:55:03 AM »

just draw

the hardest part is generating ideas
I take the approach of just putting my pencil to the paper and drawing a silhouette until I see something in a form.  usually the form brings ideas as to where I can take the drawing.

I also find collage to be great for spurring ideas, and if I don't have magazines lying around I just try to include whatever comes to mind in the character or in the environment.