Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411644 Posts in 69395 Topics- by 58450 Members - Latest Member: pp_mech

May 15, 2024, 03:49:16 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperAudioReason users!!
Pages: [1] 2 3
Print
Author Topic: Reason users!!  (Read 5616 times)
rogerlevy
« on: September 23, 2011, 12:33:28 PM »

Hey yall, I'm getting seriouser about Reason and I'm wondering are there any forums on the interwebs that people know of or visit a lot for tips+tricks+examples exchange.

Basically I'm hoping to make friends with other Reason users.

EDIT: topic name!
« Last Edit: March 19, 2012, 08:39:59 AM by dormz » Logged
Slather
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2011, 01:37:00 AM »

Hey mcsleepy,
I've been using Reason for about two years now (for fun) and I've learned a lot. Every track I make is an experiment.  Sometimes I mimic sounds I like from other artists, or I have this melody thats stuck in my head AND WONT GET OUT until I make a track.  I use an Oxygen-49, Reason 5 (6 is coming soon!!), and Adobe Audition for actual audio work and mastering.  I play guitar (electric and acoustic) and I record it sometimes.

I also need to find someone to talk with about this stuff..  sometimes I'll start with a chord progression on guitar, then go into Reason and slam out the chords, add beats/drums, add a simple bassline- and then play it back.  As I listen this round, and have my acoustic again, and I improvise some scale patterns and sing a melody and try to get a feel for it.  Once I find a melody I like, I go back into Reason and record.

Recently, I've been add atmospheric textures and ambients to add some depth.

Here's a short jam I imagine being in some sort of robot game: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/4775209/music/Jam%201%20final.mp3
Here's the draft before adding the background texture: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/4775209/music/Jam%201%20draft.mp3