Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411656 Posts in 69395 Topics- by 58451 Members - Latest Member: Monkey Nuts

May 15, 2024, 02:52:28 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperAudioRecognisable melody for your game or not?
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Recognisable melody for your game or not?  (Read 1046 times)
petertos
Level 3

View Profile WWW
« on: June 21, 2012, 08:40:18 AM »

Hi all,  Cheesy  Cool  Waaagh!  Noir  Hand Any Key

I was wondering what kind of music you prefer for your games: recognisable melodies or ambient (without melody or weak one) songs.

Im a game developer and composer and I'm always struggling to make a strong recognisable melody but it might not be the current standard... That's why I ask here. What do you think? Do you have any advise on this? The truth is that games like Mario Bros or Monkey Island or many others rely on a beautiful, memorable melody that helps the game (in my opinion).

Comments are open...

Petertos

PS: If you want to check out some of my free music for games, please go to http://www.pedroalonsopablos.com/en/free-music/

Level 8

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2012, 08:41:06 AM »

Depends on the game and situation.

petertos
Level 3

View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2012, 08:47:19 AM »

LOL. If there is anybody who wants to explain that short answer above...  Wizard  Shrug

HernanZh
Level 2

View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: June 21, 2012, 09:25:23 AM »

I think if you have a game with a lot of action, you should go for recognisable, if it's not (for example if the game is more about exploration) ambient is better.

ஒழுக்கின்மை (Paul Eres)
Level 10

Also known as रिंकू.

View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: June 21, 2012, 11:28:45 AM »

LOL. If there is anybody who wants to explain that short answer above...  Wizard  Shrug