Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411625 Posts in 69391 Topics- by 58447 Members - Latest Member: sinsofsven

May 11, 2024, 07:23:25 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperArt (Moderator: JWK5)The point that the graphics start taking away from gameplay
Pages: [1] 2
Print
Author Topic: The point that the graphics start taking away from gameplay  (Read 4825 times)
InkBlotBunny
Level 1

View Profile
« on: September 17, 2011, 03:52:44 PM »

I'm still pretty new to to this whole graphic design thing so I figured I'd find out other peoples opinions on the subject.

Here are a few simple questions to help start the discussion:
Do you believe that a games graphics can take away from the gameplay and if so how?
Are there any games that come to mind that you felt suffer from this?
Can you play it safe by using a simplistic style or does that make the game feel shallow?
Theophilus
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2011, 04:06:33 PM »

Absolutely I do believe game graphics can take away from the gameplay. They can distract. If they're done poorly, the can interrupt the flow and thus the player's experience.

Things that use a lot of glitzy glamorey stuff (Lens flares, particles all over the place) are the main culprit. These things are good but I feel some games do abuse them.

Simplistic design does not mean sloppy, so I don't think it would.

(psst, you might find this thread interesting: http://forums.tigsource.com/index.php?topic=21477.0)
DavidCaruso
YEEEAAAHHHHHH
Level 10

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2011, 04:44:07 PM »