Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411576 Posts in 69386 Topics- by 58444 Members - Latest Member: darkcitien

May 04, 2024, 10:16:26 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsTerra: New Beginnings
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Terra: New Beginnings  (Read 315 times)
CodeCracked
TIGBaby

View Profile
« on: March 26, 2016, 04:13:19 PM »

A Game of Regrowth
Made with LWJGL
-----

To start with, this is my first DevLog I have made. I have been programming for over four years now, and have made a few small games. However, this is my first large scale 3D game. I have been working on this game for several weeks now to make sure I was up to the task and that I was able to do the programming required, since I am making this with Java, not with a game engine.  It has gone rather smoothly and has been a very fun and exciting few weeks for me. I feel confident in my abilities, so let's get started talking about Terra: New Beginnings.

Terra is going to be a game that is a cross between a First Person Shooter and Real Time Strategy Game, with some elements of City Builders added in. You will be tasked with using these tools to bring the citizens of Earth to a newly discovered planet, Planet 10, or as the people call it, New Earth. People are leaving Earth due to a large pandemic caused by overpopulation. However, some do not want to leave Earth, as they are the few that were immune to the pandemic. It is your job to convince them to come to New Earth to rebuild our civilization.

A First Person Shooter? So it's a COD clone? No. Although Terra will have some FPS mechanics, it is not heavily based on FPS mechanics. You must keep a balance between going into a battle yourself and commanding your troops in said battle.