Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411721 Posts in 69402 Topics- by 58450 Members - Latest Member: FezzikTheGiant

May 22, 2024, 12:27:28 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)The technical implications of a 3D game
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: The technical implications of a 3D game  (Read 2644 times)
BlueSweatshirt
Level 10

the void

View Profile WWW
« on: January 30, 2010, 11:14:46 PM »

So, I've been making 2D games for almost six years now.

I want to venture forth farther into the realm of 3D games, but I don't know where to start exactly.(besides Google)

I'm wondering what are some implications of making a 3D game that has animated [skeletal] models, dynamic models(as in a character's head looks towards a designated object, because this currently stumps me.), and actually creating these models. Beyond visuals, there is also collision detection that concerns me.

So, I request a few questions answered:
- What 3D engines do you recommend?(if any) Is it a better idea to make my own?
- What books/resources do you recommend looking at for 3D game programming? This is going beyond the literal rendering, and talking about 3D games themselves.(if any exist)
- What tools do you recommend for 3D modeling and animation?

Thanks for your time!
 Smiley
« Last Edit: January 31, 2010, 12:14:34 AM by Jakman4242 » Logged

Mikademus
Level 10

The Magical Owl

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2010, 04:02:23 AM »

What 3D engines I recommend... Well, let's first assume you're going to explore 3D games programming before making a commercial project. That I say this is because there are many very sophisticated commercial 3D frameworks, but I personally think that they're overkill for learning and starting out.