Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411636 Posts in 69394 Topics- by 58448 Members - Latest Member: Danque_Birbington_II

May 14, 2024, 12:07:27 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogstiny & Tall: Gleipnir
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: tiny & Tall: Gleipnir  (Read 2696 times)
pins
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« on: September 08, 2015, 11:44:35 AM »

Hello everyone!
I'm a French comic artist and I've decided to adapt my graphic novel, entirely readable here : http://imgur.com/a/iHzHE, into a point'n'click adventure game, mixing traditional 2D cartoonish animation and painted backgrounds.
It's called tiny & Tall: Gleipnir and its Kickstarter page just went live!
https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/pins/tiny-and-tall-gleipnir
The tone of the game is an homage to, among many others, Terry Pratchett’s Discworld, LucasArt classic titles such as Monkey Island and Day of the Tentacle and Gustave Flaubert’s Bouvard et Pécuchet..

Now I've been hearing about the TIG forums for a long time, and to be honest I'm a bit afraid, I'm not sure if I'll manage to be relevant and interesting here. But I'm going to try anyway!

The game is developped using Visionaire Engine, a very convenient WYSIWYG that uses Lua. You can create an adventure game from start to finish without ever having to type one line of code... But it'll be better if you do. I'm an absolute novice when it comes to code, so it's been a wild ride.
I'm assuming the percentage bar of the download icon relates to the advancement of the project? If so, I've chosen 20% since the main interface is done, including the options menu and the saving system. The rest doesn't scare me as much as this did.