Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411428 Posts in 69363 Topics- by 58416 Members - Latest Member: JamesAGreen

April 19, 2024, 01:29:36 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsGastrocove - a food production pipeline sim on a tropical island
Pages: [1] 2 3
Print
Author Topic: Gastrocove - a food production pipeline sim on a tropical island  (Read 4058 times)
morphinegames
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« on: March 23, 2018, 01:32:10 PM »

Hi guys! I am new here, but I wanted to start a devlog for our upcoming simulation game Gastrocove.

Actual work started on this game in February of this year, but design work began over Christmas.

I'm a lone indie dev that does this as a hobby/side project and I have a full time career as a computer programmer for a company I started about 12 years ago. Programming is my passion, but I also love music and graphic design. What industry other than game dev can hit all those little pleasure buttons??

Anyways, Gastrocove is a simulation game that takes place on an island with the goal being to optimize an assembly line of food production. The following is a screenshot of the current title screen. The game just went into Alpha today! All core functionality is in and now it's just a matter of fleshing out the island and fixing bugs.

The goal is to submit this into the https://thegdwc.com/ competition by September 30th and then possibly follow up with a Steam release early next year.

I have been documenting the process of creating this game over the past couple of months and I am going to share a lot of the early work in this dev blog that leads up to the game as it is today. The next few posts will be very ugly placeholder graphics etc. but I think it will give a good insight into HOW MUCH a game can change from inception to release.

« Last Edit: May 16, 2018, 08:28:08 AM by morphinegames » Logged