Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411562 Posts in 69384 Topics- by 58443 Members - Latest Member: junkmail

May 03, 2024, 06:36:14 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsTacklebox (working title) - ASCII Incremental/Adventure/Survival Game
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Tacklebox (working title) - ASCII Incremental/Adventure/Survival Game  (Read 1574 times)
loubeasley
Level 0

View Profile
« on: August 31, 2016, 03:55:58 PM »

Foreword

Tacklebox is a project I have been working on for a couple of years off and on. The game has been through many iterations, including a complete rewrite after a hard lesson was learned about the importance of backups and how some people have sticky fingers. The original (and most complete) prototype of the game is browser-based and uses Angular 1.x for the UI and JavaScript/Typescript for the core engine.

I hope I can share with you the fragmented ideas rolling around in my head and find some sort of guidance in writing these developments down and receiving feedback.

Idea

The general idea of the game is based around being an angler. Like other incremental games, the entire progression of the game is built on the main resource you are accumulating, which is fish. In order to accumulate more and more fish, you (the angler) will find better rods, bait, lures, and other equipment. Trades can be made with NPCs, whether it be for fish, better bait, or another resource entirely. All the traditional RPG elements will be at your disposal. You will unravel the threads of the world around you in hopes of finding the path to the next pile of fish. Somewhere along the way you will find yourself in the thick of a plot, perhaps causing your original fish-related motivations to blossom into something more profound.

Story (Rough Draft/Ideas)