Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411562 Posts in 69384 Topics- by 58443 Members - Latest Member: junkmail

May 03, 2024, 09:11:24 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperAudioWhat sounds / FX do you need most?
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: What sounds / FX do you need most?  (Read 1499 times)
Maseo
Level 0

View Profile
« on: June 17, 2011, 04:34:06 AM »

Hey everybody,

I'm a sound designer looking to make SFX specifically for game sound and I'm really keen to know what sort of sounds you guys need the most. Are there any particular sound sets that you find it really difficult to find / create sounds for (e.g. weapons, character movement, etc.)?

I'm hoping I might be able to help if there are Smiley
SundownKid
Level 10

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2011, 11:02:32 AM »

I can't seem to find many sounds for regular and A-A gun turrets. By that I mean, a heavy mounted machine gun, and a flak gun, WWII-style.

Maseo
Level 0

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2011, 04:04:29 AM »

Thanks SundownKid, I'll have a think about how I could synthesize those. Anybody else?
McMutton
Level 10

McMutton

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 18, 2011, 09:28:22 AM »

I've been having issues figuring out how to do some of those cartoony ringy sword swinging sounds, kinda like the ones in Super Smash Bros, or the new Alice game.
« Last Edit: June 18, 2011, 05:32:18 PM by McMutton » Logged
hyperduck
Level 10

Music and Noises

View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: June 19, 2011, 06:59:04 AM »

You can use various thin metal to get a ping sound, take the inital attack off it, add a swoosh from a brush or broom or whatever to the start, and it gives you a swooshing sound with a inggggg to suggest it's a very sharp sword.