Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411576 Posts in 69386 Topics- by 58444 Members - Latest Member: darkcitien

May 04, 2024, 10:16:37 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperDesign3D Game graphics ideas?
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: 3D Game graphics ideas?  (Read 4263 times)
Brekslo
Level 0

View Profile
« on: April 22, 2023, 01:26:00 AM »

Hi everyone this is my first post on this forum, hope to get some feedback and learn more.
Hoping this is the right place to ask this.

So basically I started my journey in this world, the game I wanna make is on paper pretty simple, a sort of walking simulator much like What remains of edith finch, in which the story is one of the main components.

Problem is I fear that what I'm studying right now isn't gonna be too much of use for my objective. Currently experimenting with Blender and following along with videos to try understand how all of it works, but now I'm having doubts and thinking that maybe Blender is not really the software that would work for me. And since I'm only one person pursuing realistic style of graphics seems so much work that would inevitably either lead me to abandoning all of it or just take too much time to realize.

Now I've recently been interested in cel-shading, and it looked much more manageable to me. Is it? What other styles of 3d shading can I consider?
Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. I hope I didn't make this unnecessarly long.

DarkGran
Level 1

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2023, 06:24:07 AM »

Hi and welcome! Coffee

As a rather impatient person I can't imagine I'd be engaged by a walking game (name you mentioned does not ring a bell), then again if you say it's a lot about storytelling, then I guess I'd like it, if the story's good. Smiley