Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411577 Posts in 69386 Topics- by 58445 Members - Latest Member: Mansreign

May 05, 2024, 10:56:11 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)Mac-Alternatives to BlitzBasic ?
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Mac-Alternatives to BlitzBasic ?  (Read 1761 times)
Lukas
Level 3

View Profile
« on: August 24, 2009, 02:08:38 PM »

Hi!

This year I learned programming with BlitzBasic (Compiler: Blitz3D) and I actually really enjoyed it.
I'm no programmer and never really got into *serious languages* like C and it's relatives...
I'm also not that much into learning those (also: having to tinker with complex compilers etc.)

What really made me get into BlitzBasic was its simplicity (totally simple syntax and no features I don't really need), good documentation (great tutorial on Wikipedia + full documentation of all commands etc. bundled with the IDE) and (last but absolutely not least) ease of use (hitting the "Run" button would simply run the code in the current window without me having to create any actual files etc. - hitting "Compile" would turn exactly that program into a standalone .exe) + it has a nice debugger for my needs .
- All this made me use BlitzBasic like a... notepad in which I could really quickly sketch some ideas and immediately see my stuff run.
Still... BlitzBasic offered things like Functions, including of code and stuff like that which made it more than a "watered down, 'baby'-language".

Now the actual problem: I'm on a Mac. And I had to learn BlitzBasic for a school project which kind of gave me a reason to reboot into Windows XP (bootcamp) and program there. The school project is done now and well... I don't really want to reboot into windows all the time. I really need to find some way of doing this kind of stuff on my Mac now...