Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411599 Posts in 69387 Topics- by 58445 Members - Latest Member: gravitygat

May 08, 2024, 10:22:25 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperPlaytestingThe Outlaw, The Drunk, & The Whore
Pages: [1] 2
Print
Author Topic: The Outlaw, The Drunk, & The Whore  (Read 5215 times)
Del_Duio
Level 2

Supreme Omelettelord

View Profile WWW
« on: December 14, 2009, 11:16:35 AM »

(Moved from Indie Games to here where it fits more)

Hi guys, this is a posting about a new game I've been making for about 5 months or so now called The Outlaw, The Drunk, & The Whore (catchy I know?). Anyhow ODW is pretty fun to play so far and I'd like to hear any suggestions or comments on what I have for ideas or graphics and all that from the people of this forum.

I don't come here very often so if this sort of thing isn't allowed (i.e. tooting your own horn) I appologize in advance.  Gentleman

--

Backstory: A little more than a year ago I set out to create a crazy western-themed game that had a Diablo-style point and click interface. After about a month I realized that sort of thing was beyond my abilites what with the pathfinding mostly. However, I really liked the whole western theme and a few months ago stated from basically scratch and redid everything to build it into a new game.

And believe it or not, I really have Derek Yu's Spelunky game to thank for it. When I read that he took 2 types of games (platformer & rogue-like) and simplified them and squished them into a new type of game that got me thinking. I can do that! And what better than to use some of the ideas from my old failed western Diablo! And so it goes..