Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411592 Posts in 69386 Topics- by 58444 Members - Latest Member: FightingFoxGame

May 07, 2024, 08:05:02 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperBusinessFlash CS5 - Export to iPhone
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Flash CS5 - Export to iPhone  (Read 1963 times)
roboprez
Level 1

Got to love them pixels

View Profile WWW
« on: October 08, 2009, 02:15:03 AM »

As some people may know adobe recently made this announcement. http://labs.adobe.com/technologies/flashcs5/appsfor_iphone/
In short in Flash CS5 you can export the whole project as the native iPhone file to put on the app store. Remember you still need a developer account with Apple and go through all their hullabaloo.

Now as a intermediate Actionscript programmer I immediately thought "This  is perfect for me!" Then I remembered, this is probably perfect for millions and millions of other people as well. I've been planing to learn Objective-C, play around with the iPhone SDK and eventually buy a license to make a game for the AppStore and make some money. Reading some articles this seamed an entirely possible way to make some money.

Now with this new way of iPhone development I'm wondering is any effort I make to iPhone development going to be out shined by all existing Flash developers? Is it going to be worth focusing my development on the iPhone or will I just waste my money?

Craig Stern
Level 10

I'm not actually all that stern.

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2009, 09:25:12 AM »

I heard about this as well. If the iPhone weren't such a horrible market to go into (particularly for the kind of games I like to make), I'd be very excited about this.

Gorgoo
Level 1

View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2009, 10:40:20 AM »