Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411573 Posts in 69386 Topics- by 58444 Members - Latest Member: darkcitien

May 04, 2024, 12:52:04 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)C# + SDL.NET: Creating instances (In a way.. ?)
Pages: [1] 2
Print
Author Topic: C# + SDL.NET: Creating instances (In a way.. ?)  (Read 7376 times)
Noel Berry
Level 4

Yarr!

View Profile WWW
« on: May 07, 2009, 04:21:45 PM »

EDIT: OK, I have another question: http://forums.tigsource.com/index.php?topic=6125.msg198799#msg198799

I'm trying to do something a little object oriented (I have no idea how to do it otherwise), but can't get it working...

Original post:

Hi there.
I've been making games in Game Maker for over 3 years now, and, more for the fun of it than anything, I'm looking into trying out some C# or C++.
I already started some C# stuff, and have made a simple level editor, but am now interested in attempting to make a small 2D game.

I'm not particularly worried about C#/C++ being 'too hard'. I've been using Game Maker, and other programming languages (VB.NET, and like I said a bit of C# already), so I'll get the hang of it.

My problem is, I really don't know where to start. I need a few nice tutorials that explain things like loading in graphics and displaying them properly, and the like. (Possibly even some simple open source 2D games?)

I'm also not sure if I should be using C# or C++. I tend to hear that C++ is probably better when it comes to developing games, but don't know this for a fact.

Any help would be appreciated.

Cheers,
Drazzke.

« Last Edit: May 12, 2009, 08:42:43 PM by Drazzke » Logged

Mikademus
Level 10

The Magical Owl

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2009, 04:26:45 PM »

Start by having a look at this thread (learning new languages) in this very forum.

Gentleman