Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411644 Posts in 69395 Topics- by 58450 Members - Latest Member: pp_mech

May 15, 2024, 01:40:56 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperAudioLearning music composition...
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Learning music composition...  (Read 1983 times)
Daid
Level 3

View Profile
« on: January 17, 2012, 10:47:39 AM »

Let me start background first:
-I'm a programmer
-With many other skills
-I'm actually a bit competent with photoshop/inkscape/3D studio max
-I've played an instrument (keyboard, not a toy one, a Yamaha 740 PSR to be exact)

Now I want to see if I can expand my skills with some limited music making skills. Now, I've played music, always from sheets, so I can read/understand sheet music. I also have a bit of music theory in the pocket. And I found http://www.musictheory.net to learn the missing bits. (I'm having troubles remembering all the names for everything, but I can look those up)

Now, I've also identified the software I like using. Which is Musagi. And I understand how it works.

But now I'm missing 1 bit. And it must be obvious somewhere, but I guess I miss the "natural music sense gene". Because I cannot seem to get from "music theory" -> "music that doesn't sound like crap". Any tips for me? I understand music takes time to learn, and I won't produce Cave Story  Cave Story like music quickly. But I want to try to create something that people won't turn off when it's playing behind a small game.

Yes, I know there are many people who will create music for me. But I want to try myself.
Oh, and I can seem to create a half decent drum line with musagi. So I do have a sense of rhythm I guess. But the melody is where it's failing.

Software engineer by trade. Game development by hobby.
The Tribute Of Legends Devlog Co-op zelda.
EmptyEpsilon Free Co-op multiplayer spaceship simulator