Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411588 Posts in 69386 Topics- by 58443 Members - Latest Member: Mansreign

May 06, 2024, 06:18:19 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsDefender (not final name) decided to simplify idea
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Defender (not final name) decided to simplify idea  (Read 624 times)
Requiem
Level 0

View Profile
« on: June 08, 2014, 07:36:02 AM »

So being completely new to game creation, I'm starting to feel I've taken on a big project. I started to lose motivation to continue to learn about what I was doing.
So I've decided to take a step back and simplify my thoughts, which are usually hectic.

Initially I was going to create a missile defense game of sorts.

Sorry for the terrible drawing! I'm still working on stuff like this.

I'm creating in Game Maker because I have zero programming experience and it seems like a simple place to start. But as I went and tried new mechanics I don't understand how to implement and art that is turning out nowhere near how I want it (even with my understanding of my limited skills) I realized I might be reaching for something just beyond my grasp at this point.

My simplified idea is going to be a static missile defense. Sorry if I'm using that term incorrectly by the way. I'm not really sure what else to compare it to.
It's going to have simple, bright art and fun music. Something I can FINISH. Which is my whole goal with simplifying. I just want to say I've finished a game I started and I will be able to finish the next one!

I am 100% open to any feedback for a newbie from a more experienced developer.

I'm not sure if I'm making the right choice right now. But it seems like it would make things more doable down the road. Especially if I don't give up on game development.
Slader16
Level 8

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2014, 10:38:43 AM »